group (1)

Midlothian Swimming Club Squads 2015


cups (1)

Our Trophies and Awards


The Club held our much anticipated presentation dance and ceilidh at Bilston Miners welfare and social club on Friday 6th February. This event is the highlight of our social calendar, both for parents and children.   All Club swimmers are encouraged to compete against their age peers in all four strokes and in longer distance events, as part of the yearly Club championships. These competitive events were held  at the end of last year, the winners are revealed on the night and silverware presented.


Diane Kennedy


It was also the final opportunity for our outgoing club president, Debbie McFarlane,  to award the Presidents Cup to say ‘Thank you’  to someone special who has gone out of their way to support the president or helped sustain the Club.   This year Diane Kennedy, was awarded this accolade, she joined the club in 1982, when both her children; Scott and Sarah were swimmers. Dutifully, she has remained as an integral part of the committee ever since and has been a President in the past.


Denise Golder and Debbie McFarlane

It was also an opportunity for the incoming President, Denise Golder,  to turn the tables on Debbie McFarlane and present her with the Ruby Brockie Cup.  Ruby Brockie, was a high profile swimming official with Sasa East District, who offered a great deal of help to the Club, and was made an honorary member of the club.  The current committee selected the incredibly dedicated Debbie for the award this year. She has been involved with the club for 16 years since her elder daughter, Vicky,  started swimming as a 7 year old and now as her younger daughter Beth has reached 16 years she is taking a well earned rest.  Throughout her time with the Club she has helped with fundraising, running the swimming supplies shop, even volunteering to be Vice President followed by a stint as President.

A delighted Debbie took the opportunity to wish  “the new president, Denise Golder, all the very best for her time in office” saying “I am sure she will do a great job and I would like to wish Midlothian Swimming Club every success in the pool for 2015.”

The Midlothian Cup was presented by our head coach to a swimmer who has had an outstanding year, this years winner was Fraser Wilson. The Davey Combe trophy was awarded to a swimmer who works hard tirelessly, but never seems to reap the rewards. This years recipient was Evie Cuthbert. The Sean Fraser cup  was awarded to the most improved back stroke swimmer. Sean Fraser is a para Olympian who swam with Midlothian Swimming Club,  and this year was awarded jointly to Jenny Timoney and Ellie Turnbull.

After the presentation, a ceilidh band made sure everyone took to the floor for a spot of exercise.

About Louise M
Website Administrator

Comments are closed.

%d bloggers like this: